Press Release

Posted by Michael Humes on August 22, 2012

ESPN’s 2013 ACC Men’s College Basketball Schedule

PRINT VERSIONFILED IN: Basketball, College Basketball - Men's TAGGED: , ,

ESPN’s 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) men’s college basketball regular-season schedule will feature 106 conference games across ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU as well as the ESPN3 simulcasts of syndicated matchups. An extensive schedule of non-conference action is to be determined.

The schedule is highlighted by the return of the weekly ACC Sunday Night Basketball franchise on ESPNU and ACC action on ESPN’s Super Tuesday, Wednesday Night Hoops, Thursday Night Showcase and Saturdays.

ESPN and the ACC are beginning a new 15-year agreement for exclusive rights to every conference game. Through a sublicense arrangement with ESPN, Raycom Sports will continue its long-standing position as the syndication home of ACC content for over-the-air and regional cable network distribution. ESPN3 will simulcast every game that is offered locally via syndication.

Seth Greenberg Storylines to Follow in the ACC
ESPN’s new men’s basketball analyst Seth Greenberg, who most recently coached at Virginia Tech, provides his top storylines in the ACC this season:

  • There are backcourt questions for Duke and North Carolina with the departure of Austin Rivers and Kendall Marshall, respectively. Who will step in for them? There will be pressure on Duke’s Quinn Cook and North Carolina’s Marcus Paige this season.
  • How will NC State handle going from the hunter last year to the hunted this year? Will they be able to handle the new role as the team to beat? Last year, everyone knew where their minutes were coming from and could play through their mistakes. Will the top-rated incoming recruiting class disrupt their team chemistry?
  • Miami’s Jim Larranaga has an experienced team with purposeful depth. Few teams have two returning front court players as experienced as Miami. He has a host of backcourt options led by Shane Larkin and Durand Scott, who is a potential first round draft pick.
  • Florida State is among the winningest programs in the ACC in the last six years and will continue that winning way this season. They are for real and creating a basketball culture in Tallahassee.
  • Maryland and Virginia will be better than people expect this season. Both had really good recruiting classes that will develop as the season progresses. For Maryland, center Alex Len is going to have a break-out year and a chance to be the dominating front court presence in the conference. Virginia’s Jontel Evans will be the pulse of their team and I look for Mike Tobey to emerge as one of the better freshman in the conference.
Date Time (ET) Matchup Network(s)
Sat, Jan 5 Noon Wake Forest at Duke ESPNU
  Noon Virginia Tech at Maryland ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2:30 p.m. Miami at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  4 p.m. NC State at Boston College ESPN2
  4 p.m. Florida State at Clemson ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sun, Jan 6 8 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: North Carolina at Virginia ESPNU
Tue, Jan 8 7 p.m. Clemson at Duke ESPNU
Wed, Jan 9 7 p.m. Boston College at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  8 p.m. Florida State at Maryland ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  8 p.m. Georgia Tech at NC State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. Virginia at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Thu, Jan 10 7 p.m. Miami at North Carolina ESPN or ESPN2
Sat, Jan 12 Noon Duke at NC State ESPN
  Noon Virginia at Clemson ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2 p.m. North Carolina at Florida State ESPN
  2:30 p.m. Virginia Tech at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  4 p.m. Boston College at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sun, Jan 13 8 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Maryland at Miami ESPNU
Tue, Jan 15 7 p.m. Wake Forest at Clemson ESPNU
Wed, Jan 16 7 p.m. NC State at Maryland ESPN2
  7 p.m. Miami at Boston College ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Thu, Jan 17 9 p.m. Georgia Tech at Duke ESPN or ESPN2
Sat, Jan 19 Noon Maryland at North Carolina ESPN
  2 p.m. Wake Forest at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  4 p.m. Florida State at Virginia ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Sun, Jan 20 6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Clemson at NC State ESPNU
Tue, Jan 22 7 p.m. NC State at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  9 p.m. Boston College at Maryland ESPNU
Wed, Jan 23 7 p.m. Duke at Miami ESPN
  9 p.m. Georgia Tech at North Carolina ESPN
Thu, Jan 24 8 p.m. Clemson at Florida State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  8 p.m. Virginia at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Sat, Jan 26 1 p.m. Boston College at Virginia ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  3 p.m. Wake Forest at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  7 p.m. Saturday Primetime: North Carolina at NC State ** ESPN
Sun, Jan 27 1 p.m. Virginia Tech at Clemson ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Florida State at Miami ESPNU
Tue, Jan 29 7 p.m. NC State at Virginia ESPN2
  7 p.m. Georgia Tech at Clemson ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  9 p.m. North Carolina at Boston College ESPNU
Wed, Jan 30 8 p.m. Duke at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  8 p.m. Maryland at Florida State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. Miami at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sat, Feb 2 Noon Clemson at Boston College ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  Noon Virginia Tech at North Carolina ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2 p.m. Duke at Florida State ESPN
  2 p.m. Wake Forest at Maryland ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sun, Feb 3 3 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Virginia at Georgia Tech ESPNU
Tue, Feb 5 7 p.m. Wake Forest at North Carolina ESPNU
  7 p.m. Boston College at Miami ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  9 p.m. Florida State at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Thu, Feb 7 7 p.m. Clemson at Virginia ESPN or ESPN2
  9 p.m. NC State at Duke ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. Maryland at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Sat, Feb 9 Noon Florida State at Wake Forest ESPN or ESPN2
  1 p.m. Georgia Tech at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  2 p.m. North Carolina at Miami ESPN or ESPN2
Sun, Feb 10 1 p.m. NC State at Clemson ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  1 p.m. Virginia at Maryland ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Duke at Boston College ESPNU
Tue, Feb 12 7 p.m. Virginia Tech at Virginia ESPNU
Wed, Feb 13 7 p.m. Miami at Florida State ESPN or ESPN2
  7 p.m. Wake Forest at Boston College ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  9 p.m. North Carolina at Duke ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Thu, Feb 14 7 p.m. Clemson at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sat, Feb 16 Noon Virginia at North Carolina ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  Noon Boston College at Florida State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2 p.m. Virginia Tech at NC State ESPN or ESPN2
  2 p.m. Georgia Tech at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  6 p.m. Duke at Maryland ESPN or ESPN2
Sun, Feb 17 6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Miami at Clemson ESPNU
Tue, Feb 19 7 p.m. Florida State at NC State ESPN2
  9 p.m. Virginia at Miami ESPNU
  9 p.m. Maryland at Boston College ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. North Carolina at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Thu, Feb 21 9 p.m. Duke at Virginia Tech ESPN or ESPN2
Sat, Feb 23 Noon Clemson at Maryland ESPN2
  1 p.m. Miami at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  4 p.m. NC State at North Carolina ESPN or ESPN2
Sun, Feb 24 2 p.m. Boston College at Duke ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2 p.m. Georgia Tech at Virginia ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Florida State at Virginia Tech ESPNU
Tue, Feb 26 9 p.m. Wake Forest at Florida State ESPNU
Wed, Feb 27 7 p.m. Virginia Tech at Miami ESPN3 * & RSN ^
  8 p.m. Maryland at Georgia Tech ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  8 p.m. Boston College at NC State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Thu, Feb 28 7 p.m. North Carolina at Clemson ESPN or ESPN2
  9 p.m. Duke at Virginia ESPN or ESPN2
Sat, Mar 2 Noon Maryland at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. Miami at Duke ESPN
  8 p.m. Clemson at Virginia Tech ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Sun, Mar 3 4 p.m. Virginia at Boston College ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: NC State at Georgia Tech ESPNU
Tue, Mar 5 7 p.m. Virginia Tech at Duke ESPNU
  7 p.m. Boston College at Clemson ESPN3 * & RSN ^
Wed, Mar 6 7 p.m. North Carolina at Maryland ESPN or ESPN2
  9 p.m. Georgia Tech at Miami ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. Wake Forest at NC State ESPN3 * & ACC Network
Thu, Mar 7 9 p.m. Virginia at Florida State ESPN or ESPN2
Sat, Mar 9 Noon Georgia Tech at Boston College ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  2 p.m. NC State at Florida State ESPN or ESPN2
  2:30 p.m. Clemson at Miami ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  9 p.m. Saturday Primetime: Duke at North Carolina ** ESPN
Sun, Mar 10 2 p.m. Virginia Tech at Wake Forest ESPN3 * & ACC Network
  6 p.m. ACC Sunday Night Basketball: Maryland at Virginia ESPNU

* Local blackout may apply
**
College GameDay will originate from the site
^ Regional Sports Network cable carriers in the ACC territory include Comcast SportsNet, FOX Sports South, FOX Sports Carolinas, FOX Sports Florida and NESN

-30-