Press Release

Posted by Keri Potts on August 9, 2012

Texas Football Practice, Soccer and Volleyball Set For August on Longhorn Network

PRINT VERSIONFILED IN: College Football, Longhorn Network TAGGED: ,

Pre-season practices on LHN now; 12 Soccer and 15 Volleyball matches begin Aug. 10, Aug. 24

The 2012 University of Texas athletics season has begun on Longhorn Network with live pre-season football practices televised daily (exceptions noted) now through August 29. Women’s soccer and volleyball matches will join the lineup starting August 10 and August 24, respectively, with a total of 27 matches for air through November.

Live Pre-Season Football Practice Schedule:

Date Time (all times CT)
Wed, Aug. 8 5:30 p.m.
Thurs, Aug. 9 5:30 p.m.
Fri, Aug. 10 9 a.m.
Sat, Aug. 11 8 a.m., 6 p.m.
Sun, Aug. 12 4 p.m.
Tue, Aug. 14 4 p.m.
Wed, Aug. 15 8 a.m., 6 p.m.
Thurs, Aug. 16 9 a.m.
Fri, Aug. 17 8 a.m.
Mon, Aug. 20 4 p.m.
Tue, Aug. 21 9 a.m.
Wed, Aug. 22 9 a.m.
Tue, Aug. 28 4 p.m.
Wed, Aug 29 4 p.m.

Additionally, Texas Soccer kicks off its season with an exhibition match against Texas State on Friday, Aug. 10 at 7 p.m. CT. New head coach Angela Kelly welcomes a nine-member freshman class to the team.

“I’m very, very excited about Longhorn Network. There is no other institution that has the ability to broadcast each home match live with an ESPN-quality production. The people at Longhorn Network are the consummate professionals. The quality is fantastic. I’m really excited to have the ability to be on this platform and share everything that is Texas with all of our fans,” Kelly said.

ESPN’s Monica Gonzalez will serve as analyst and Glenn Davis will handle play-by-play duties for the matches. Gonzalez is a former member of the Mexico national women’s team and was part of the 2004 Olympic team. Davis is a former U.S. professional soccer player and was a NAIA All-American.

Live Texas Soccer Schedule:

Date Time (all times CT) Opponent
Fri, Aug. 10 7 p.m. Texas State
Fri, Aug. 17 7 p.m. Dayton
Fri, Aug. 24 8 p.m. North Carolina State
Sun, Aug. 26 1 p.m. Toledo
Fri, Aug. 31 7:30 p.m. Virginia
Sun, Sept. 2 1:30 p.m. New Mexico
Fri, Sept. 14 8 p.m. Fresno State
Sun, Sept. 16 7 p.m. Denver
Fri, Oct. 5 7 p.m. Oklahoma State
Fri, Oct. 12 5:30 p.m. Texas Tech
Sun, Oct. 14 1 p.m. Kansas
Fri, Oct. 26 7 p.m. West Virginia

Texas Volleyball will launch the season with the 26 West Longhorns Classic, a two-day home tournament, to air live on LHN. The nation’s No.1 ranked recruit, Molly McCage, will join the team this fall in the second-ranked recruiting class in the country. The Longhorn lineup features five new players, including four of the top 20 incoming players in the nation.

Jerritt Elliott, Texas head volleyball coach said, “We are eager to start the season with a great group of returning veterans and a talented class of freshmen. This team will need time to develop, but has a great upside if they learn to play well together.”

Texas Volleyball Schedule:

Date Time (all times CT) Opponent
Fri, Aug. 24 6 p.m. LSU
Sat, Aug. 25 11 a.m. Cal Poly
Sat, Aug. 25 7 p.m. San Diego
Thurs, Sept. 6 6:30 p.m. Minnesota
Fri, Sept. 7 6:30 p.m. Minnesota
Fri, Sept. 14 6 p.m. Illinois
Sat, Sept. 15 11 a.m. Cincinnati
Sat, Sept. 15 4 p.m. UCF
Sat, Sept. 22 5 p.m. Oklahoma
Wed, Oct. 3 7 p.m. TCU
Fri, Oct. 12 7:30 p.m. Kansas
Wed, Oct. 24 7 p.m. Baylor
Fri, Nov. 2 7 p.m. Kansas State
Wed, Nov. 14 7 p.m. Texas Tech
Sat, Nov. 17 1 p.m. West Virginia

Longhorn Network is moving into its second year, having televised more than 400 original hours of event telecasts, more than 200 live events, and more than 150 hours of original football content.  Sports events included 12 men’s basketball games, 14 women’s basketball games, 38 baseball games, 33 softball games and more than 14 hours of Texas Relays coverage. More than 900 hours of academic, arts and cultural content were featured.

Where to Watch

Longhorn Network is available on Verizon FiOS TV, Grande Communications, Consolidated Communications, En-Touch Systems, E-Tex Communications, Bay City Cablevision, Mid-Coast Cablevision and Texas Mid-Gulf Cablevision. Longhorn Network is now available online to Verizon FiOS subscribers at LonghornNetwork.com. It will be available on tablets and on smartphones to fans with an affiliated video subscription in the near future.

About Longhorn Network

ESPN has a 20-year agreement to own and operate a year-round, 24-hour network dedicated to Texas athletics in partnership with UT and IMG College.  Longhorn Network offers a variety of content, highlighted by more than 200 exclusive events annually from 20 sports, original series and studio shows, historical programming and academic and cultural happenings. Additionally, the LonghornNetwork.com broadband companion to the TV network offers extensive content, particularly live games not carried on the linear TV network due to scheduling conflicts.

-30-

ESPN contact: Keri Potts, (860) 766-4483 or keri.a.potts@espn.com

University of Texas media contact: Nick Voinis at (512) 471-2151 or Nick.Voinis@athletics.utexas.edu

IMG Media contact: Jim Gallagher at (212) 774-4419 or jim.gallagher@imgworld.com