Press Release

Posted by Derek Volner on January 28, 2014

ESPN Rolls Out Unprecedented College Softball Schedule

PRINT VERSIONFILED IN: College Sports (Miscellaneous) TAGGED: ,

More than 80 Regular-Season Games; Five Conference Championship Games ESPN will offer an unprecedented college softball lineup this season with more than 80 regular-season games scheduled across its networks. ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and ESPNEWS will combine to televise more than 40 games, including the entire SEC tournament and the ACC, American, SWAC, and Big South championship games. In addition, ESPN3 will carry more than 40 exclusive regular-season games to be announced at a later date. The television schedule begins with preseason No. 1 Tennessee hosting South Carolina on Sunday, March 23, at 2:30 p.m. on ESPNU. Once the regular season concludes, ESPN’s coverage will continue with regional round coverage and every pitch of the super regionals and the NCAA Women’s College World Series. Additional television highlights:

  • A record 17 matchups featuring two ranked teams will air on an ESPN network including No. 10 Texas at No. 2 Oklahoma on Thursday, April 17, on ESPN2. The defending National Champion Oklahoma Sooners will also play at No.16 Baylor on Saturday, April 12 on ESPN
  • In addition to its game against South Carolina, No. 1 Tennessee will be seen in two other games – at No. 11 Texas A&M on Friday, April 11 and Sunday, April 13
  • Twelve games feature a top 5 team in the ESPN.com/USA Softball preseason top 25 games and, overall, a ranked team will appear in 27 games

ESPN offers a deep roster of softball analysts. Each analyst – Jessica Mendoza, Jennie Finch, Amanda Scarborough, Cheri Kempf and Michele Smith  – was named a collegiate All-American multiple times. Additionally, Finch, Mendoza, and Smith combine for six Olympic medals, including four gold. Completing the broadcast assignments are play-by-play commentators Beth Mowins, Pam Ward, Cara Capuano, Adam Amin, Holly Rowe, and Mark Neely. 2014 ESPN NCAA Softball Television Schedule (subject to change)

Date Time (ET) Matchup Network
Sun, March 23 2:30 p.m. South Carolina vs. #1 Tennessee ESPNU
  7 p.m. #10 Texas at #16 Baylor ESPNU
Mon, March 31 6 p.m. # 12 Florida State at UNC ESPNU
Fri, April 4 9 p.m. Arkansas at #6 Alabama ESPNU
Sat, April 5 5 p.m. Auburn at #3 Florida ESPNU
Sun, April 6 3 p.m. Arkansas at #6 Alabama ESPN
Thu, April 10 11 p.m. #5 Washington at #20 Stanford ESPNU
Fri, April 11 8 p.m. #1 Tennessee at #11 Texas A&M ESPNU
Sat, April 12 3 p.m. #2 Oklahoma at #16 Baylor ESPN
Sat, April 12 10 p.m. #5 Washington at #20 Stanford ESPN2
Sun, April 13 1 p.m. #1 Tennessee at #11 Texas A&M ESPNU
Mon, April 14 7 p.m. #12 Florida State at Notre Dame ESPNU
Wed, April 16 7 p.m. Long Beach State at Cal State Fullerton ESPNU
  9:30 p.m. Long Beach State at Cal State Fullerton ESPNU
Thu, April 17 9 p.m. #10 Texas at # 2 Oklahoma ESPN2
Fri, April 18 8 p.m. #3 Florida at #11 Texas A&M ESPNU
Sat, April 19 4 p.m. #19 LSU at South Carolina ESPNU
  6 p.m. #3 Florida at #11 Texas A&M ESPNU
Sun, April 20 3 p.m. Syracuse at #12 Florida State ESPNU
Thu, April 24 8 p.m. #21 Georgia at # 6 Alabama ESPN
Fri, April 25 10 p.m. # 8 Oregon at #20 Stanford ESPNU
Sat, April 26 12 p.m. #21 Georgia at # 6 Alabama ESPNU
Mon, April 28 7 p.m. Maryland at Notre Dame ESPNU
Thu, May 1 8 p.m. # 6 Alabama at # 17 Missouri ESPN
Sat, May 3 2 p.m. # 6 Alabama at # 17 Missouri ESPNU
  4 p.m. # 14 Kentucky at #21 Georgia ESPNU
  6 p.m. #20 Stanford at #13 UCLA ESPNU
  7:30 p.m. #3 Florida at Arkansas ESPN
Sun, May 4 1 p.m. #3 Florida at Arkansas ESPN
  3 p.m. #20 Stanford at #13 UCLA ESPN

2014 ESPN NCAA Conference Championship (subject to change)

Wed, May 7 4 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Play-In Game No. 1 ESPNU
  6:30 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Play-In Game No. 2 ESPNU
Thu, May 8 11 a.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Quarterfinal No. 1 ESPNU
  1:30 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Quarterfinal No. 2 ESPNU
  4 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Quarterfinal No. 3 ESPNU
  6:30 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Quarterfinal No. 4 ESPNU
Fri, May 9 3 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Semifinal No. 1 ESPNU
  5:30 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Semifinal No. 2 ESPNU
Sat, May 10 2 p.m. ACC Softball Tournament – Championship ESPN2
  3:30 p.m. American Softball Tournament – Championship ESPNEWS
  8 p.m. SEC Softball Tournament – Championship ESPN2
  10 p.m. SWAC Softball Tournament – Championship* ESPNU
Sun, May 11 Noon Big South Softball Tournament – Championship ESPNU

*Live on ESPN 3 at 3:00 p.m.; taped delayed on ESPNU -30- Media contact: Derek Volner at 860-384-9986; Derek.Volner@ESPN.com and @DerekVolner