Press Releases

Drone Racing

ESPN, Drone Racing League (DRL) Announce U.S. and International Telecast Agreement

By     

Posted on

To share: http://es.pn/2cw8Tzf

ESPN and DRL announced a multi-year agreement to bring the thrill of FPV racing to the masses, covering telecast and digital distribution in North, South and Central America and the Caribbean. In the U.S., the 2016 season will air as ten, one-hour episodes covering five races on ESPN/ESPN2 beginning with an “Intro to DRL” episode tomorrow, Thursday, September 15 at 11 PM ET on ESPN2, and kicking off the full season on Sunday, October 23. ESPN will help connect a new audience to drone racing, committing to help innovate the space and leverage their expertise in growing emerging sports.

“Coverage of DRL lets us merge storytelling, technology and competition into compelling weekly content that we believe will appeal to a growing audience,” said Matthew Volk, ESPN Director, Programming & Acquisitions. “We look forward to delivering events and programming to passionate fans of this emerging sport.”

The ESPN/ESPN2 telecast schedule in the U.S.:

Date Time (ET) Episode Network
Thu, Sep 15 11:00 p.m. Intro to Drone Racing ESPN2
Sun, Oct 23 9:00 p.m. Intro to Drone Racing ESPN2
10:00 p.m. Race 1: Miami Lights ESPN2
Thu, Oct 27 7:00 p.m. Race 2, Episode 1: L.A.Pocalypse ESPN2
Sun, Oct 30 10:00 p.m. Race 2, Episode 2: L.A.Pocalypse ESPN2
Thu, Nov 3 7:00 p.m. Race 3, Episode 1: Project Manhattan ESPN2
Sun, Nov 6 10:00 p.m. Race 3, Episode 2: Project Manhattan ESPN2
Thu, Nov 10 10:00 p.m. Race 4, Episode 1: The Ohio Crash Site ESPN2
Sun, Nov 13 10:00 p.m. Race 4, Episode 2: The Ohio Crash Site ESPN
Sun, Nov 20 9:00 p.m. Race 5, Episode 1: DRL 2016 World Championship ESPN
10:00 p.m. Race 5, Episode 2: DRL 2016 World Championship ESPN

 

The entire press release from Drone Racing League can be found here.

-30-