Press Releases

MLS

ESPN’s 2017 Major League Soccer Schedule

By     

Posted on

Photos via ESPN Images

ESPN networks will televise 31 regular-season Major League Soccer matches in 2017, beginning Sunday, March 5 at 5 p.m. ET with Orlando City SC vs. New York City FC, the 2017 MLS season- opener for the two clubs and the first match at the new Orlando City Stadium. ESPN and ESPN Deportes will televise the Orlando-NYC FC clash, which will feature some of the league’s top international stars such as Brazil’s Kaká and Italy’s Antonio Nocerino (Orlando), and Spain’s David Villa and Italy’s Andrea Pirlo (New York City).

Highlights of 2017 MLS Season on ESPN:

  • 28 of the 31 regular-season matches will air on ESPN. The remaining three on ESPN2. All 31 matches will be televised on ESPN Deportes, the Spanish-language sports network, and streamed live on WatchESPN and in Spanish on ESPN Deportes+;
  • 26 of the 29 scheduled matches involve at least one 2016 MLS Cup Playoff team;
  • 2016 MLS Cup champion Seattle Sounders, Los Angeles Galaxy, New York City FC and new Atlanta United FC lead the league with six regular-season appearances each on ESPN networks;
  • 2016 MLS Cup rematch: Midfielder Nicolas Lodeiro, forward Jordan Morris and the champion Seattle Sounders will host Toronto FC, led by Sebastian Giovinco, Jozy Altidore and Michael Bradley, in a rematch of 2016 MLS Cup on Saturday, May 6, at 4 p.m. ET on ESPN, ESPN Deportes and WatchESPN;
  • MLS Rivalry Week on ESPN: Cascadia Cup — Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders — in a matchup of the last two MLS Cup title winners on Sunday, June 25. The second MLS Rivalry Week on ESPN will feature last season’s four Eastern Conference finalists in a weekend  doubleheader – New York Red Bulls vs. New York City FC on Friday, August 25, and Montreal Impact vs. Toronto FC on Sunday, August 27;
  • ESPN2, ESPN Deportes and WatchESPN will carry the only two matches between the league’s new expansion teams – Minnesota United FC and Atlanta United FC – on Sunday, March 12 at 5 p.m. and Sunday, August 13 at 6 p.m.;
  • Toronto FC vs. New York City FC (July 30) features a rematch of 2016 MLS Eastern Conference semifinals and a matchup between the last two league MVPs – Toronto’s Sebastian Giovinco (2015) and New York City’s David Villa (2016);
  • Two Los Angeles Galaxy-Seattle Sounders games on ESPN networks – April 23 and July 29 – feature the only two teams to make the playoffs in each of the past eight seasons, winning four MLS titles in that span.

Commentators:

Play-by-play commentators Adrian Healey, analyst Taylor Twellman and sideline reporter Julie Stewart-Binks will handle English-language commentaries.  The 2017 season will be Stewart-Binks’ first as sideline reporter for Major League Soccer action on ESPN after joining the network in December 2016Richard Méndez and former New York/New Jersey MetroStars (New York Red Bulls) striker Giovanni Savarese return to call the matches in Spanish on ESPN Deportes.

ESPN’s 2017 MLS Schedule

(Schedule Subject to Change)

Date Time (ET) Match Networks
Sun, March 5 5 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, March 12 5 p.m. Minnesota United FC vs. Atlanta United FC ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 2 9 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. New England Revolution ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 9 4 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, April 14 7 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 23 4 p.m. Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, May 6 4 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. Toronto FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, May 14 4 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Atlanta United FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, May 21 5 p.m. Minnesota United FC vs. Los Angeles Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, May 28 5 p.m. Atlanta United FC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, June 3 5 p.m. Sporting Kansas City vs. Minnesota United FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, June 17 1 p.m. New York City FC vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, June 18 5 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, June 25 4 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, June 30 9:30 p.m. Real Salt Lake City FC vs. Orlando City SC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, July 1 7 p.m. Sporting Kansas City vs. Portland Timbers ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, July 21 7 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. Atlanta United FC ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sat, July 22 4 p.m. Minnesota United FC vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, July 29 TBD Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Seattle Sounders ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, July 30 2 p.m. Toronto FC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Aug 6 4 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Los Angeles Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Aug 13 6 p.m. Atlanta United FC vs. Minnesota United FC ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sat, Aug 19 4 p.m. Atlanta United FC vs. Los Angeles Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, Aug 25 7 p.m. New York Red Bulls vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Aug 27 4:30 p.m. Montreal Impact vs. Toronto FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sep 10 1 p.m. Columbus Crew SC vs. Sporting Kansas City ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sep 17 1 p.m. New York Red Bulls vs. Philadelphia Union ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sept 24 1 p.m. Sporting Kansas City vs. Los Angeles Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 1 1 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 15 3 p.m. TBD – Week 33 Flexible Scheduling ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 22 4 p.m. TBD – Decision Day ESPN, ESPN Deportes

* All matches will be streamed live on WatchESPN and in Spanish on ESPN Deportes+

— 30 —