Press Releases

College Football

Who’s In? ESPN’s Exclusive Announcement of the College Football Playoff and New Year’s Six Matchups on Selection Day


Posted on

  • Four-Hour College Football Playoff Selection Show at Noon ET Highlights 14 Hours of TV Coverage
  • Multi-Platform Analysis: ESPN Radio Broadcasts 11 Hours, Rankings Reactions Streams Live on Twitter and  com Provides Digital Coverage
  • Reporters at CFP Headquarters and Numerous Campuses, including Alabama, Clemson, Georgia, Miami and Oklahoma Among Others
  • College Football Playoff Selection Committee Chairman Kirby Hocutt Interviewed; Head Coaches Join the Selection Show

ESPN will exclusively reveal the College Football Playoff selection committee’s final rankings Sunday, Dec. 3, as part of 14 hours of television coverage on college football’s Selection Day. ESPN Radio will broadcast 11 hours of coverage, ESPN’s digital team produces a reactions show on Twitter streams and will dissect the CFP from every angle as ESPN provides multi-platform, wall-to-wall coverage for fans on the pinnacle day of the sport’s regular season.

College Football Playoff Selection Show at Noon; College Football Playoff Teams and New Year’s Six Matchups Announced
The College Football Playoff Selection Show Presented by AT&T begins at noon ET and continues until 4 p.m., exclusively unveiling the four College Football Playoff teams, the complete College Football Playoff Top 25 and the New Year’s Six matchups. The College Football Playoff Semifinal matchups will be announced at approximately 12:30 p.m. while the complete CFP Top 25 and New Year’s Six will be announced later in the show.

Rece Davis Hosts, Joined by Analysts in Studio, Reporters on Location and CFP Selection Committee Chairman
Rece Davis will host the much-anticipated Selection Show and be joined by a slew of commentators including Chris Fowler, Paul Finebaum, Joey Galloway, Kirk Herbstreit, Greg McElroy, Booger McFarland, Jesse Palmer, and David Pollack among others throughout the show. Additionally, ESPN will have reporters at key locations and campuses, including but not limited to:

Location Reporter
College Football Playoff Headquarters Heather Dinich
Alabama Marty Smith
Clemson Tom Rinaldi
Georgia Maria Taylor
Miami Gene Wojciechowski
Oklahoma Jeannine Edwards

Additional Campuses will likely be added over the next 72 hours  

College Football Playoff Selection Committee Chairman Kirby Hocutt will join the Selection Show shortly after the College Football Playoff teams are announced and then again later in the show.

College Football Playoff and Bowl Reaction Continues from 6 to 11 p.m.
Reaction and analysis of the College Football Playoff, the New Year’s Six and the complete bowl schedule will continue into the night across ESPN’s platforms, including a five hours across ESPN and ESPN2.

Championship Drive Presented by Capital One airs on ESPN2 from 6 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. with Chris Cotter, McShay, Pollack and Vilma leading into Championship Drive: Who’s In Presented by Capital One on ESPN from 8:30 to 11 p.m. with Adnan Virk, Mack Brown, McElroy, McFarland and Todd McShay.

In addition to previewing the College Football Playoff and the entire bowl slate, the show will follow any storylines that may have developed throughout the day.

SEC Network will air a two hour SEC Now: Bowl Special at 6 p.m. with Dari Nowkhah and Peter Burns, with Gene Chizik, Chris Doering and Marcus Spears as the group analyzes and dissects the conference’s teams participating in the College Football Playoff and the entire bowl schedule

Start Your Sunday with College Football Playoff Prognostication: SportsCenter Coverage Begins at 7 a.m. on ESPN, College Football-Centric Programming at 9 a.m. on ESPN2
ESPN’s live coverage of Selection Day begins with SportsCenter at 7 a.m. on ESPN with Matt Barrie, Elle Duncan and Kevin Negandhi hosting with Finebaum and McFarland joining them. Then, a three-hour Championship Drive Presented by Capital One airs at 9 a.m. on ESPN2 with Joe Tessitore, Finebaum, Pollack, and Vilma.

Both shows will project what will happen later in the day, while being joined by the various reporters around the country.

ESPN will immediately begin looking forward to Selection Sunday as soon as Championship Saturday concludes, beginning with SportsCenter with Scott Van Pelt and College Football Final on late Saturday night.

ESPN’s Multi-Platform Selection Day Coverage Includes:

  • Sunday NFL Countdown: Herbstreit will join the network’s popular NFL pregame show to talk about the upcoming CFP reveal, while also helping to break down the 2018 NFL Draft Quarterback Class
  • ESPN Radio: The 11-hour radio coverage begins at 11 a.m. with Matt Schick and Chris Doering hosting the College Football Playoff Selection Show. Later in the afternoon, Field Yates and Andrew Hawkins will host from 2 to 7 p.m. before a special College GameDay: College Football Playoff Selection with Doug Kezirian, Brad Edwards and Trevor Matich airs from 7 to 10 p.m.
  • Rankings Reaction Twitter Show: Mike Golic Jr.  and Jason Fitz conclude their month-long Twitter series which is streamed via @ESPNCFB and from 1 to 2 p.m. This past week’s show (Tuesday evening) drew more than 1.1 million live and replay viewers.  The show will also be aired on ESPN Radio. More information can be found here.
  • College Football Playoff reporter Heather Dinich will report from the CFP Headquarters in Grapevine, Texas, beginning Friday and continuing through Monday. On Selection Sunday, in addition to providing a first-look at the CFP matchups and Dinich’s reporting, a sampling of additional coverage includes:
Topic Writer
How the Four Playoff Teams Arrived Ryan McGee
Did the Committee Get it Right? Andrea Adelson
Predicting Every Bowl Game Adam Rittenberg


ESPN’s Selection Day Television Programming Schedule

Time Program Network Commentators  
7 – 9 a.m. SportsCenter ESPN Matt Barrie, Elle Duncan, Kevin Negandhi, Paul Finebaum, Booger McFarland
9 – noon Championship Drive Presented by Capital One ESPN2 Joe Tessitore, Paul Finebaum, David Pollack, Jonathan Vilma
Noon – 4 p.m. College Football Playoff Selection Show Presented by AT&T ESPN Rece Davis, Chris Fowler, Paul Finebaum, Joey Galloway, Kirk Herbstreit, Greg McElroy, Booger McFarland, Jesse Palmer, David Pollack
6  – 8:30 p.m. Championship Drive Presented by Capital One ESPN2 Chris Cotter, Todd McShay, David Pollack, Jonathan Vilma
6 – 8 p.m. SEC Now: Bowl Special SEC Network Dari Nowkhah, Peter Burns, Gene Chizik, Chris Doering, Marcus Spears
8 p.m. – 11 p.m. Championship Drive: Who’s In ESPN Adnan Virk, Mack Brown, Greg McElroy, Booger McFarland, Todd McShay



Media contact: Derek Volner at 860-384-9986; [email protected] and @DerekVolner