Press Releases

High School

Teams and Matchups Selected for GEICO State Champions Bowl Series on ESPNU


Posted on

  • State Champions from Arizona, Florida, Maryland and Utah to Participate

ESPNU will televise the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series on Saturday, Dec. 23, at 6 p.m. and 9:30 p.m. ET, from Grand Canyon University Stadium in Phoenix, Arizona; considered one of the country’s preeminent collegiate soccer stadiums, the venue will host its first ever football event with the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series. The double-header will feature state champions from Arizona, Florida, Maryland and Utah in a premier national high school football event.

GEICO State Champions Bowl Series Teams

Rankings are per USA Today (Dec. 11). State classification is represented (inside).

  • Utah: No. 8 Bingham, UHSAA (5A) Champion
  • Maryland: 11 St. Frances Academy, MIAA Conference A Champion
  • Arizona: 23 Chandler, AIA (6A) Champion
  • Florida: Miami Northwestern, FHSAA (6A) Champion

GEICO State Champions Bowl Series Matchups:

No. 11 St. Frances (Maryland) vs. No. 8 Bingham (Utah)
6 p.m. ET

St. Frances brings six players from the ESPN 300’s junior and senior rankings, while Bingham brings experience, entering their third GEICO State Champions Bowl Series. Both teams will try to remain undefeated, and to capitalize on their recent Maryland and Utah state championships.

 Miami Northwestern (Florida) vs. No. 23 Chandler (Arizona)
9:30 p.m. ET
In his six seasons as Chandler Head Coach, Shaun Aguano has already led the Wolves to three Arizona state championships. Chandler will look for their second straight GEICO State Champions Bowl series win, after making their first appearance last year. It will be a difficult task against a talented Miami Northwestern team though, as the South Florida power captured the 6A state title to earn their first GEICO State Champions Bowl Series invite.

About GEICO State Champions Bowl Series Teams:

No. 8 Bingham (UT) 14-0

Head Coach: John Lambourne

Key Wins: East (Utah) & Kahuku (Hawaii)

Players to Watch: WR Brayden Cosper (BYU), LB Lolani Langi, LB Junior Tafuna.

Bingham will enter the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series undefeated on the season and extremely familiar with postseason play.  The Miners will become the first three-time participant in the event, but will still be looking for their first Bowl Series victory, after dropping two close games to Florida powers St. Thomas Aquinas (2016) and Booker T. Washington (2014).

No. 11 St. Frances Academy (MD) 12-0

Head Coaches: Henry Russell and Biff Poggi

Key Wins: Bishop Sullivan Catholic (Virginia) & Don Bosco Prep (New Jersey)

ESPN 300 (Class of 2018)

  • No. 4 Eyabi Anoma (DE)
  • No. 65 Jaelyn Duncan (OT)

ESPN JR300 (Class of 2019)

  • No. 40 Shane Lee (ILB)
  • No. 281 Darrian Dalcourt (OG)
  • No. 282 Joachim Bangda (RB)
  • No. 299 Jalon Jones (QB)

St. Frances is the first team from the northeast to participate in the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series.  The Panthers captured the MIAA title by running through the state competition and will look to cap off a perfect season against a Top Ten national power.

No. 23 Chandler (AZ) – 12-2

Head Coach: Shaun Agauno

Key Wins: Hamilton (Arizona) & Perry (Arizona)

Players to Watch: WR Gunner Romney (BYU), DT Chris Manoa (UNLV), DB Bryce Jackson (UNLV), RB Drake Anderson, QB Jacob Conover.

Chandler returns for the second straight year to the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series.  The team is led again by 2019 QB Jacob Conover who was the MVP in last year’s win over Valdosta (GA) 44-24.  The Wolves will look to continue that success while playing as the “home” team in this event, representing the state of Arizona.

Miami Northwestern (12-2)

Head Coach: Max Edwards

Key Wins: Miami Central (Florida) & Armwood (Florida)

ESPN 300 (Class of 2018)

  • 250 Divaad Wilson (CB)

ESPN JR300 (Class of 2019)

  • 292 Mark Fox Jr. (OG)

The Greater Miami Athletic Conference will have a team representing them in  the Bowl Series again, after having two teams participate in the inaugural event in 2014.  Northwestern enters the event having won their first state title in a decade, with the team showcasing one of the most formidable defenses in the country.

The GEICO State Champions Bowl Series is produced in conjunction with Paragon Marketing Group.

For further information and ticket sales, visit


ESPN media contact:

Kimberly Elchlepp at [email protected] or 860-424-2923; @kimelchlepp

 For further information on the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series and for media credential requests please contact: [email protected]