Press Releases

International Soccer

Carabao Cup Champion to be Crowned on ESPN


Posted on

ESPN2, ESPN3 and ESPN Deportes will combine to televise the home-and-away semifinals and championship match of the 2017-18 Carabao Cup. Now down to the final four teams, the knockout competition started with the 92 teams in England’s top four professional leagues – Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two.

The semifinals feature three of the top six teams in the Premier League – Manchester City (#1), Chelsea (#3) and Arsenal (#6), plus English Football League Championship team Bristol City. Matches will be streamed live on the ESPN App.

Semifinal coverage begins Tuesday, Jan. 9, at 2:40 p.m. ET (ESPN3 and ESPN Deportes) with Manchester City hosting Bristol City at Etihad Stadium.

Carabao Cup schedule:

Date Time (ET) Matchup Platforms
Tue, Jan 9 2:40 p.m. Manchester City vs. Bristol City ESPN3, ESPN Deportes
Wed, Jan 10 2:55 p.m. Chelsea vs. Arsenal ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Tue, Jan 23 2:40 p.m. Bristol City vs. Manchester City ESPN3, ESPN Deportes
Wed, Jan 24 2:55 p.m. Arsenal vs. Chelsea ESPN3, ESPN Deportes
Sat, Feb 25 TBD Carabao Cup Final ESPN3, ESPN Deportes


Manchester City vs. Bristol City (Semifinal I)

  • Manchester City, unbeaten in domestic competition this season, is in the midst of an unprecedented campaign in English football chasing four trophies – Carabao Cup, FA Cup, English Premier League and UEFA Champions League – in the 2017-2018 soccer season.
  • 2017-18 Carabao Cup’s Cinderella team Bristol City is currently fourth place in the Championship, England’s second division. They eliminated Carabao Cup defending champion Manchester United in the quarterfinals.

Chelsea vs. Arsenal (Semifinal II)

  • Arsenal and Chelsea will meet twice in two weeks, after playing a thrilling 2-2 draw in English Premier League’s London derby at Emirates Stadium on Wednesday
  • Chelsea, current English Premier League champions, has won five League Cups, tied for second-most in the cup competition. Chelsea last won the title in 2015.
  • Arsenal is one of the most successful clubs in English football having won 13 league titles since its founding in 1888. Arsenal is the only team to finish a Premier League season undefeated (2003-04).

Soccer Power Index (SPI) Projections:

According to FiveThirtyEight’s Soccer Power Index (SPI), Manchester City is a massive favorite to win the Carabao Cup, with a 99 percent chance to beat Bristol City and 65 percent chance to win the title. Chelsea and Arsenal are a virtual coin flip to reach the final, with Chelsea a marginal favorite over Arsenal to win the title.

Reach Final Win Title
Manchester City 99% 65%
Chelsea 51% 18%
Arsenal 49% 17%
Bristol City 1% 0.1%

About the Carabao Cup:

The is the 58th edition of The Carabao Cup. Commonly known as the League Cup, the knockout football competition features the 92 teams in England’s top four leagues – Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two.  The first League Cup was played during the 1960-61 season. Liverpool FC leads all clubs with eight trophies.