Press Releases

MLS

ESPN’s 2018 Major League Soccer Regular Season Schedule

By     

Posted on

Photos via ESPN Images

ESPN networks will televise 31 regular-season Major League Soccer matches in 2018, as well as the MLS All-Star Game in Atlanta on Aug. 1.

ESPN’s schedule begins Sunday, March 4 at 5 p.m. ET with 2017 MLS Cup finalist Seattle Sounders hosting Los Angeles FC at CenturyLink Field in Seattle. The season-opener will mark the MLS debut of the much-anticipated LAFC coached by former U.S. Men’s National Team manager Bob Bradley and led by Mexican National Team forward Carlos Vela.

ESPN and ESPN Deportes will televise the Sounders-LAFC opener, which will also feature some of the league’s top stars on Seattle’s roster, such as U.S. Men’s National Team players Clint Dempsey and Jordan Morris, Uruguayan midfielder Nicolás Lodeiro and Panamanian defender Román Torres.

Highlights of 2018 MLS on ESPN:

  • 28 of the 31 regular-season matches will air on ESPN; the remaining three on ESPN2. All 31 matches will be televised on ESPN Deportes, the Spanish-language sports network, and streamed live on the ESPN App and in Spanish on ESPN Deportes+;
  • 27 of 29 games involve at least one 2017 MLS Cup Playoff team or the new expansion team Los Angeles FC;
  • 2017 MLS Cup finalist Seattle Sounders, Atlanta United FC, Orlando City SC and Los Angeles FC lead the league with six regular-season appearances each on ESPN networks;
  • LAFC will look to be the fifth club to make the playoffs in its first MLS season. The squad will be led by Mexican forward Carlos Vela, who has 18 goals in 64 international games for El Tri;
  • Defending MLS Cup champion Toronto FC, featuring American stars Michael Bradley and Jozy Altidore, plus 2017 Best XI honorees Sebastian Giovinco and Justin Morrow, will make two appearances in August against 2017 Eastern Conference playoff teams – Atlanta United (Aug. 4) and New York City FC (Aug. 12). Last season Toronto became the first MLS club to win the domestic treble (MLS Cup, Supporters’ Shield, domestic cup);
  • MLS Heineken Rivalry Week on ESPN will feature a doubleheader on Friday, Aug. 24: Orlando City SC vs. Atlanta United at 8 p.m., and the new Los Angeles Derby (LA Galaxy vs. LAFC) at 10:30 p.m.;
  • The Los Angeles clubs meet twice on ESPN: Two of the three derby matches between the LA Galaxy – winners of a record five MLS Cups – vs. newcomer Los Angeles FC will air on ESPN and ESPN Deportes (July 26 and Aug. 24). The Galaxy’s sibling pair of Giovani and Jonathan dos Santos will face Carlos Vela, their teammate on the Mexican national team;
  • On May 13, Portland hosts Seattle in MLS’s top rivalry game – the Cascadia Cup. The teams have combined to win the last three Western Conference Championships and two of the last three MLS Cups. Entering this season, the Timbers have sold out 125 consecutive MLS home games, and feature reigning league MVP Diego Valeri (21 goals, 11 assists);
  • New York Red Bulls host New York City FC in the Hudson River Derby on May 5. NYCFC, led by David Villa, is 3-1-1 in their last five meetings since the Red Bulls’ historic 7-0 win at Yankee Stadium in 2016.

MLS All-Star Game – Wednesday, Aug. 1:

In addition to the 31 regular-season matches, ESPN will televise the 2018 MLS All-Star Game Presented by Target on Wednesday, August 1, live from Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. The league’s midsummer showcase will pit a squad of Major League Soccer All-Stars against a marquee team to be announced soon.

ESPN’s 2018 MLS Schedule

(Schedule Subject to Change)

Date Time (ET) Match Networks
Sun, March 4 5 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. Los Angeles FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, March 11 3 p.m. Atlanta United vs. DC United ESPN, ESPN Deportes+
Sat, March 31 8 p.m. San Jose Earthquakes vs. New York City FC ESPN2, ESPN Deportes+
Sat, April 7 5 p.m. Atlanta United vs. Los Angeles FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 8 4 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. Portland Timbers ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, April 13 8 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. Orlando City SC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 15 4 p.m. Sporting Kansas City vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 22 4 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. Minnesota United ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, April 29 4 p.m. Colorado Rapids vs. Orlando City SC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, May 5 2 p.m. New York Red Bulls vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, May 13 4 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Seattle Sounders FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Tue, May 29 11 p.m. Los Angeles FC vs. D.C. United ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sat, June 2 5 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. LA Galaxy ESPN2, ESPN Deportes
Sat, June 9 5 p.m. Columbus Crew SC vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, June 30 7 p.m. Atlanta United vs. Orlando City SC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, July 15 6 p.m. Los Angeles FC vs. Portland Timbers ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Thu, July 26 8 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Thu, July 26 10:30 p.m. Los Angeles FC vs. LA Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, July 28 9 p.m. Portland Timbers vs. Houston Dynamo ESPN, ESPN Deportes+
Sun, July 29 5 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, Aug 4 4 p.m. Atlanta United vs. Toronto FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Aug 12 4 p.m. Toronto FC vs. New York City FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sat, Aug 18 4 p.m. Seattle Sounders FC vs. LA Galaxy ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, Aug. 24 8 p.m. Orlando City SC vs. Atlanta United ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Fri, Aug 24 10:30 p.m. LA Galaxy vs. Los Angeles FC ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sep 16 1 p.m. D.C. United vs. New York Red Bulls ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sep 23 1 p.m. Philadelphia Union vs. Sporting Kansas City ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Sep 30 1 p.m. New York Red Bulls vs. Atlanta United ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 7 1 p.m. D.C. United vs. Chicago Fire ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 21 3 p.m. TBD ESPN, ESPN Deportes
Sun, Oct 21 5:15 p.m. TBD ESPN, ESPN Deportes

* All matches will be streamed live on the ESPN App and in Spanish on ESPN Deportes+

— 30 —