Press Releases

Basketball

ESPN2 Scores with WNBA: Audience Up 58% in 2018, Up 26% Overall vs. 2017

By     

Posted on

Through three games, ESPN2’s audience for the 2018 WNBA season is up 58% on ESPN2 compared to the first three games on ESPN2 in 2017. The season is averaging 266,300 viewers. The three games in 2018 on ESPN2 have also earned a 26% viewership gain over the first four games of 2017 that aired on ESPN and ESPN2. Each game has featured at least one of the participants of the 2016 and 2017 WNBA Finals – the Minnesota Lynx and the Los Angeles Sparks.

The WNBA on ESPN2 resumes tonight at 10:30 p.m. ET, as the Seattle Storm and its upstart tandem of Breanna Stewart and Jewell Loyd visit the 2016 WNBA Champions Sparks and dynamic duo Candace Parker and Nneka Ogwumike. Commentator Ryan Ruocco and analyst LaChina Robinson will call the game, with reporter Holly Rowe.

In addition, ESPN’s coverage of tomorrow night’s 2018 NBA Finals Game 4 will feature a WNBA-themed crew on the “Full Court Press” second-screen experience. WNBA legends Lisa Leslie and Rebecca Lobo will team with current WNBA star Chiney Ogwumike and ESPN NBA commentator Cassidy Hubbarth as the group watches Game 4 and offers commentary and analysis. “Full Court Press” is available on ESPN3 and streaming live on the ESPN App.

Remaining WNBA schedule:

Date Time (ET) Game Network
Thu, Jun 7 10:30 p.m. Seattle Storm at Los Angeles Sparks ESPN2
Wed, Jun 13 7 p.m. Washington Mystic at Connecticut Sun ESPN2
Fri, Jun 22 10 p.m. New York Liberty at Las Vegas Aces ESPN2
Thu, Jun 28 9 p.m. Los Angeles Sparks at Seattle Storm ESPN2
Thu, Jul 5 8 p.m. Los Angeles Sparks at Minnesota Lynx ESPN2
Thu, Jul 19 8 p.m. Washington Mystic at Dallas Wings ESPN2
Tue, Jul 24 8 p.m. New York Liberty at Minnesota Lynx ESPN2
Sat, Jul 28 3:30 p.m. 2018 WNBA All-Star Game ABC
Tue, Aug 2 10 p.m. Minnesota Lynx at Los Angeles Sparks ESPN2
Sun, Aug 12 7 p.m. Los Angeles Sparks at Phoenix Mercury ESPN2
Sun, Aug 19 7 p.m. Washington Mystic at Minnesota Lynx ESPN2

– 30 –

Contact: Tara Chozet  [email protected]  (860) 766- 2206  @TaraESPN