Press Releases

College Basketball - Women's

Center Court: ESPN’s Industry-Leading Women’s College Basketball Coverage

By     

Posted on

ESPN’s extensive coverage of women’s college basketball continues this season, with more than 135 matchups across ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, SEC Network and Longhorn Network, with an additional 1,500 games on ESPN3, SEC Network +, ACC Network Extra, and ESPN+, the first-ever multi-sport, direct-to-consumer subscription streaming service from The Walt Disney Company’s Direct-to-Consumer and International group and ESPN. Throughout the regular season, more than 5,000 college basketball matchups will be available across ESPN platforms. Games that will be available on ESPN+ will be revealed in the coming weeks.

Highlights

  • ESPN – will showcase up to 12 matchups, beginning with Maryland facing South Carolina on Sunday, Nov. 18, at 5:30 p.m. ET. The Jimmy V Women’s Classic will also be televised on ESPN (Dec. 2) featuring UConn at Notre Dame
  • ESPN2 – home for Big Monday matchups; will air nearly 40 games during the regular season, including ‘Showdown on the Rez’ featuring Baylor and Arizona State on Sunday, Nov. 11
  • ESPNU – the college network will air a total of 16 matchups
  • SEC Network – more than 60 matchups featuring key in-conference games, the SEC/Big 12 Challenge, We Back Pat and early rounds of the SEC Tournament
  • Longhorn Network – the 24-hour network devoted to The University of Texas will televise one exhibition game (vs. West Texas A&M) and 11 home games presented by Wells Fargo, including six Big 12 conference matchups

Franchise programming

  • Holiday Hoops including South Carolina at Purdue (Sunday, Dec. 16) and Mississippi State at Oregon (Sunday, Dec. 18)
  • Big Monday – the seven-week series, in its 13th season, with feature a top matchup nearly every week on ESPN2 beginning Jan. 14, with Iowa facing Minnesota, led by new head coach Lindsay Whalen. The Big Monday slate will include Baylor at Texas (Feb. 4), South Carolina at UConn (Feb. 11) and Oregon at Oregon State (Feb. 18)
  • Thursday Night Showcase – several primetime games on ESPN or ESPN2, including UConn at Baylor (Jan. 3), Louisville at Notre Dame (Jan. 10), Notre Dame at Tennessee (Jan. 24) and UConn at Louisville (Jan. 31)

Events

  • Jimmy V Women’s Classic presented by Corona – the annual event, in its 17th year, with UConn facing Notre Dame on Sunday, Dec. 2. The matchup will be a faceoff between two Hall of Fame coaches – Geno Auriemma and Muffet McGraw – in a storied rivalry and a rematch of last year’s Women’s Final Four semifinal, when UConn fell to reigning national champion Notre Dame at the buzzer
  • We Back Pat – ESPN will once again support the SEC’s “We Back Pat” initiative honoring the late Tennessee head coach Pat Summitt will include several matchups across ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU and SEC Network. Programming tips off with Sunday, Jan. 20, with LSU-Alabama on SEC Network, and culminates with a day-long slate on Sunday, January 27
  • Play4Kay 13th annual Play 4Kay – highlighting the Kay Yow Cancer Fund, in partnership with the V Foundation and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) – will air a number of games across ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU on Sunday, Feb. 17 and Monday, Feb. 18
  • Big 12/SEC Challenge – will feature four games on SEC Network (Kansas at LSU, TCU at Ole Miss, Texas Tech at Florida, Oklahoma at Auburn) and one matchup on ESPN2 (Baylor at South Carolina)

Top 16 Seeds Reveal
ESPN will reveal the NCAA Top 16 Seeds, determined by the NCAA Division I women’s basketball championship sport committee, during Big Monday matchups. The reveals will take place on February 11 during halftime of South Carolina-UConn, and the UConn-USF game on March 4. The entire 64-team field for the 2019 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship will be announced during the Selection Special on Monday, March 18.

ESPN: Home of the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship presented by Capital One
Beginning Friday, March 22, every round of the championship will be carried on ESPN or ESPN2. The Women’s Final Four will be live from Amalie Arena in Tampa, Fla., on Friday, April 5 and Sunday, April 7.

espnW
Charlie Creme, Graham Hays and Mechelle Voepel will continue to provide in-depth stories, profiles and game coverage this season.

espnW’s season preview will launch November 5:

  • Preseason Top 25 rankings
  • Top 25 player countdown
  • Profiles of defending NCAA champion Notre Dame, Katie Lou Samuelson and UConn, Sabrina Ionescu and Oregon, and Asia Durr and Louisville, among others

Additionally, espnW will continue to name its national player of the week each Monday. Hays will also continue to produce his comprehensive bi-weekly mid-major top 10 poll.

Creme’s women’s bracketology will debut in December and turn into weekly updates starting in January.

Games aired on an ESPN network will also be available through the ESPN App, accessible on computers, smartphones, tablets and connected devices to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

ESPN Women’s College Basketball Regular Season Schedule
Note: All ESPN3, SEC Network + and ACC Network Extra will be revealed weekly once the season begins

Date Time (ET) Matchup Network
Sun, Oct 28 2 p.m. West Texas A&M at Texas^ Longhorn Network
Thu, Nov 8 8 p.m. Duquesne at Texas Longhorn Network
Sun, Nov 11 7:30 p.m. Baylor at Arizona State ESPN2
Thu, Nov 15 6:30 p.m. Clemson at South Carolina SEC Network
  8 p.m. McNeese at Texas Longhorn Network
  8:30 p.m. Virginia at Kentucky SEC Network
Fri, Nov 16 7 p.m. Green Bay at Missouri SEC Network
Sun, Nov 18 5:30 p.m. Maryland at South Carolina ESPN
  8 p.m. Arizona State at Arkansas SEC Network
Mon, Nov 19 8 p.m. Clemson at Alabama SEC Network
Wed, Nov 28 Noon Texas-San Antonio at Texas Longhorn Network
Thu, Nov 29 7 p.m. Iowa at Notre Dame ESPN2
Kansas at LSU SEC Network
  9 p.m. TCU at Ole Miss SEC Network
Sun, Dec 2 2 p.m. Texas Tech at Florida SEC Network
  4 p.m. Jimmy V Women’s Classic presented by Corona

UConn at Notre Dame

ESPN
    Oklahoma at Auburn SEC Network
  7 p.m. Baylor at South Carolina ESPN2
Thu, Dec 6 7 p.m. Texas A&M at Houston ESPN2
Sun, Dec 9 1 p.m. Tennessee at Texas ESPN2
  3 p.m. Oregon at Michigan State ESPN2
Sun, Dec 16 2 p.m. Stetson at Texas Longhorn Network
  3 p.m. South Carolina at Purdue ESPN2
Tue, Dec 18 6 p.m. Stanford at Tennessee SEC Network
  10 p.m. Mississippi State at Oregon ESPN2
Fri, Dec 21 7 p.m. Temple at South Carolina SEC Network
Sat, Dec 29 2 p.m. Northwestern State at Texas Longhorn Network
Sun, Dec 30 1 p.m. Iowa at Michigan State ESPN2
  4 p.m. USF at LSU SEC Network
Wed, Jan 2 8 p.m. Oklahoma State at Texas Longhorn Network
Thu, Jan 3 7 p.m. Mississippi State at Arkansas SEC Network
  9 p.m. Thursday Night Showcase

UConn at Baylor

ESPN
  South Carolina at Texas A&M SEC Network
Sun, Jan 6 Noon SMU at Cincinnati ESPN2
  Alabama at South Carolina ESPNU
  1 p.m. Auburn at Florida SEC Network
  2 p.m. Missouri at Tennessee ESPN2
  TCU at Oklahoma State ESPNU
  3 p.m. Arkansas at Ole Miss SEC Network
  4 p.m. Texas at West Virginia ESPN2
  5 p.m. Kentucky at Mississippi State SEC Network
Wed, Jan 9 8 p.m. Oklahoma at Texas Longhorn Network
Thu, Jan 10 Noon Quinnipiac at Marist ESPNU
  5 p.m. Morehead State at Belmont ESPNU
  7 p.m. Thursday Night Showcase

Louisville at Notre Dame

ESPN or ESPN2
    Kentucky at Tennessee SEC Network
  9 p.m. Georgia at Mississippi State SEC Network
Sun, Jan 13 Noon Cincinnati at UCF ESPNU
  1 p.m. USF at UConn ESPN
  Ole Miss at Kentucky SEC Network
  2 p.m. Alabama at Texas A&M ESPNU
  3 p.m. Tennessee at Georgia ESPN
    Missouri at Florida SEC Network
  5 p.m. South Carolina at LSU SEC Network
Mon Jan 14 7 p.m. Mississippi State at Auburn SEC Network
  7 p.m. Big Monday

Iowa at Minnesota

ESPN2
Thu, Jan 17 7 p.m. South Carolina at Mississippi State ESPN or SEC Network
  Georgia at Missouri ESPN or SEC Network
  9 p.m. Tennessee at Alabama SEC Network
Sat, Jan 19 2 p.m. TCU at Texas Longhorn Network
Sun, Jan 20 2 p.m. Penn State at Maryland ESPN2
    Houston at Wichita State ESPNU
    We Back Pat

LSU at Alabama

SEC Network
  4 p.m. Texas A&M at Georgia ESPN2
    We Back Pat

Florida at Ole Miss

SEC Network
  6 p.m. Minnesota at Nebraska ESPN2
Mon, Jan 21 7 p.m. Big Monday

Missouri at South Carolina

ESPN2
We Back Pat

Arkansas at Tennessee

SEC Network
Wed, Jan 23 8 p.m. Kansas at Texas Longhorn Network
Thu, Jan 24 6:30 p.m. Missouri at Kentucky SEC Network
  7 p.m. Thursday Night Showcase as part of We Back Pat

Notre Dame at Tennessee

ESPN or ESPN2
  8:30 p.m. We Back Pat

Texas A&M at Auburn

SEC Network

We Back Pat (January 27)

Sun, Jan 27 Noon Saint Joseph’s at Dayton ESPNU
  1 p.m. LSU at Tennessee SEC Network
  2 p.m. Alabama at Georgia ESPNU
  3 p.m. Ole Miss at Mississippi State SEC Network
  4 p.m. UCF at UConn ESPN2
  5 p.m. Kentucky at Texas A&M SEC Network
Mon, Jan 28 7 p.m. Vanderbilt at South Carolina SEC Network
Thu, Jan 31 6:30 p.m. South Carolina at Kentucky SEC Network
  7 p.m. Thursday Night Showcase

UConn at Louisville

ESPN or ESPN2
  8:30 p.m. Vanderbilt at Texas A&M SEC Network
Sun, Feb 3 1 p.m. USF at UCF ESPN2
Mississippi State at Alabama SEC Network
  2 p.m. Florida at Kentucky ESPNU
  3 p.m. Tennessee at Vanderbilt ESPN2
    Georgia at Auburn SEC Network
  5 p.m. South Carolina at Arkansas SEC Network
Mon, Feb 4 7 p.m. Big Monday

Baylor at Texas

ESPN2
Missouri at LSU SEC Network
Thu, Feb 7 7 p.m. Texas A&M at Missouri SEC Network
  9 p.m. Arkansas at LSU SEC Network
Sun, Feb 10 Noon Florida State at Notre Dame ESPN
  Florida at Georgia ESPNU
  2 p.m. Tennessee at Mississippi State ESPN
    Houston at USF ESPN2
    Wichita State at Cincinnati ESPNU
    Auburn at Arkansas SEC Network
  4 p.m. Oregon at Stanford ESPN2
  Vanderbilt at Missouri SEC Network
Mon, Feb 11 7 p.m. Big Monday

South Carolina at UConn

ESPN2
Kentucky at Alabama SEC Network
Thu, Feb 14 7 p.m. Georgia at South Carolina SEC Network
  9 p.m. Missouri at Mississippi State SEC Network
Sun, Feb 17 Noon George Washington at Dayton ESPNU
  1 p.m. Maryland at Iowa ESPN2
  2 p.m. Cincinnati at Temple ESPNU
  Mississippi State at Texas A&M SEC Network
  3 p.m. Miami (Fla.) at Louisville ESPN2
  4 p.m. Alabama at Auburn SEC Network
  5 p.m. Tennessee at Missouri ESPN2
  6 p.m. LSU at Vanderbilt SEC Network
 Mon, Feb 18 7 p.m. Big Monday

Notre Dame at NC State

ESPN2
    Ole Miss at Georgia SEC Network
  9 p.m. Big Monday

Oregon at Oregon State

ESPN2
Thu, Feb 21 7 p.m. Kentucky at South Carolina SEC Network
  9 p.m. Tennessee at Texas A&M SEC Network
Sat, Feb 23 Noon Texas Tech at Texas Longhorn Network
Sun, Feb 24 Noon Florida State at Miami (Fla.) ESPN2 or ESPNU
  NC State at UNC ESPN2 or ESPNU
  2 p.m. Michigan at Michigan State ESPN2
    Houston at Memphis ESPNU
    Vanderbilt at Mississippi State SEC Network
  4 p.m. South Carolina at Tennessee ESPN2
  Ole Miss at Arkansas SEC Network
  6 p.m. Georgia at Alabama SEC Network
Mon, Feb 25 6 p.m. Big Monday

Notre Dame at Syracuse

ESPN2
  7 p.m. Texas A&M at Florida SEC Network
Thu, Feb 28 7 p.m. Vanderbilt at Tennessee SEC Network
  9 p.m. Missouri at Arkansas SEC Network
Sat, Mar 2 8 p.m. Iowa State at Texas Longhorn Network
Sun, Mar 3 Noon North Carolina at Duke ESPN2
  1 p.m. Kentucky at Georgia SEC Network
  2 p.m. Mississippi State at South Carolina ESPN2
  3 p.m. Florida at Vanderbilt SEC Network
  5 p.m. Arkansas at Texas A&M SEC Network
Mon, Mar 4 7 p.m. Big Monday

UConn at USF

ESPN2

^ — Exhibition game

-30-

Media contact: [email protected]